The Whitman School Hosts Annual Alumni Awards Ceremony


Brown (left) and Anderson
Anderson (left) and Notrica

As part of Orange Central 2017 homecoming celebration, Whitman hosted its Annual Alumni Awards Ceremony. Syracuse University’s Vice Chancellor and Provost Michele G. Wheatly opened the event with the introduction of Gene Anderson as the new dean of the Whitman School. Dean Anderson then presented the student and alumni winners of the 3rd Annual Orange Tank business pitch competition held earlier that day, followed by the presentation of the distinguished alumni awards:

Arthur Rock ’48 received the Jonathan J. Holtz Alumnus of the Year Award, the highest honor given to graduates of the Whitman School. Established in 1986 by Jonathan J. Holtz ’78, the award recognizes an outstanding alumnus/alumna each year for his/her professional accomplishments and service to Syracuse University.

The Orange Entrepreneur of the Year Award, which recognizes a Syracuse University alumnus for extraordinary entrepreneurial achievement, was given to Syracuse University Life Trustee. Gerald T. Halpin ’50 A&S (Feb. 15, 1923 to Aug. 14, 2017).

The Whitman Dean’s Citation for Exceptional Service was awarded to Peter Bliven ’80 and Cory Notrica ’91. Citations are given to alumni and supporters who exemplify a commitment to helping the School prepare future business leaders through direct engagement, career and placement opportunities, programmatic support and/or other contributions to position students for professional success. Bliven serves as managing director of Institutional Sales in Citi’s Municipal Securities Division covering major clients on behalf of the firm across all sectors of the Municipal Bond market. Notrica, the senior director of Digital Governance at PepsiCo., is responsible for global brand reputation and corporate integrity in the digital space.

The Young Alumnus/Alumna of the Year Award recognizes Whitman graduates who set a positive example for students and the greater Whitman community through his/her professional excellence and service to the School. This year’s recipients were Oriana Fuentes ’12, co-founded Emptor, a data automation company, and Thomas Brown ’07, a partner at Syracuse-based Registered Investment Advisor Blue Water Capital Management.

Whitman Advisory Council member and Syracuse University Life Trustee Dan D’Aniello ’68 received the 2017 George Arents Award for Excellence in Business and Philanthropic Leadership. The Arents Award is Syracuse University’s highest alumni honor. D’Aniello was presented this award at a ceremony hosted by Syracuse University that evening. D’Aniello is a former recipient of Whitman’s Holtz Award.

Arielle Spears