Whitman Voices


Chris Wszalek Appointed Executive Director of Graduate Admissions and Student Recruitment

Chris Wszalek Appointed Executive Director of Graduate Admissions and Student Recruitment

The Martin J. Whitman School of Management at Syracuse University recently announced the appointment of Chris Wszalek to the position of executive director of graduate admissions and student recruitment, effective May 28.

Wszalek brings almost a decade of experience in master’s recruiting and enrollment from different colleges in New York State. He currently serves as director of graduate programs at the Reh School of Business at Clarkson University, where he has been since 2013. Prior to that, he was active in graduate student recruitment at Canisius College and as a recruiting manager at Robert Half International in finance and accounting.

His track record includes continuous years of growing master’s student enrollment, while simultaneously increasing student quality. In helping to achieve that, Wszalek forged partnerships with many colleges in the Northeast, creating funnels of prospective students. In addition to student recruiting, he was actively involved in MBA student academic advising and mentoring, AACSB accreditation, class scheduling, CRM and programmatic marketing. He was also instrumental in merging the Union College graduate program with Clarkson’s.

“Chris’ strong interpersonal skills, dynamic leadership, and care for student success will be assets to Whitman as we continue to further our full-time master’s programs as part of Whitman’s Second Century strategic plan,” said Alex McKelvie, associate dean for undergraduate and master’s eduction.

Wszalek has a bachelor of science degree, as well as an MBA from Alfred University.

About the Whitman School

The Martin J. Whitman School of Management at Syracuse University  inspires students for a world of accelerating change. Offering B.S., MBA, M.S. and Ph.D. programs, all accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), the Whitman School’s faculty includes internationally known scholars and researchers, as well as successful entrepreneurs and business leaders. Whitman continues to be ranked among the nation’s top business schools by U.S. News & World Report and Bloomberg Businessweek. To learn more about the Whitman School of Management, visit Whitman.syr.edu.

About Syracuse University

Founded in 1870, Syracuse University is a private international research university dedicated to advancing knowledge and fostering student success through teaching excellence, rigorous scholarship and interdisciplinary research. Comprising 11 academic schools and colleges, the University has a long legacy of excellence in the liberal arts, sciences and professional disciplines that prepares students for the complex challenges and emerging opportunities of a rapidly changing world. Students enjoy the resources of a 270-acre main campus and extended campus venues in major national metropolitan hubs and across three continents. Syracuse’s student body is among the most diverse for an institution of its kind across multiple dimensions, and students typically represent all 50 states and more than 100 countries. Syracuse also has a long legacy of supporting veterans and is home to the nationally recognized Institute for Veterans and Military Families, the first university-based institute in the U.S. focused on addressing the unique needs of veterans and their families. To learn more about Syracuse University, visit syracuse.edu.



Kerri Howell

Kerri is director of communications and media relations for the Whitman School. She is responsible for managing all internal and external communications with students, faculty, staff, alumni, members of the business community and other key stakeholders.After receiving her B.A. from State University of New York at Geneseo, she went on to earn her M.S. in communications management from Syracuse’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications, where she has served as an adjunct professor in the public relations department since 2004.