Whitman’s Jose Godinez and ENACTUS Honored With Chancellor’s Awards

Each year, Syracuse University’s Mary Ann Shaw Center for Public and Community Service hosts the Chancellor’s Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship ceremony to recognize individual students, groups of students, residence halls, residence floors, student organizations and academic projects or classes that invest themselves in and contribute to the public good. This year Martin J. Whitman School of Management student Jose Godinez ’16 and student organization ENACTUS were presented awards.

CAPES 2016 Chancellor's Award for Public Engagement and Scholarship
Jose Godinez ’16 accepting his award from Chancellor Kent Syverud

Godinez received the Student Group Award for his work with Balancing the Books, a program that helps middle school and high school students learn financial literacy and essential life skills. This program is a collaboration between the Shaw Center, the Whitman School and the Syracuse City School District. During the 2015-2016 academic school year, more than 20 Whitman students participated in the program as tutors at Huntington Middle School and Henninger High School.

CAPES 2016 ’16, Catherine Smith ’16 and Megan Irwin ’17 of ENACTUS
Megan Irwin ’17 and Catherine Smith ’16 of ENACTUS accepting their award from Chancellor Kent Syverud

ENACTUS, a global nonprofit and community of student, academic and business leaders committed to using entrepreneurial action to improve lives, was selected as the Student Organization Award winner. ENACTUS works with the Syracuse City School District to teach elementary-aged children about financial literacy and educate high school students about college and scholarship applications. ENACTUS also helps fund scholarships for impoverished Mayan girls. Since its beginning in 2007, ENACATUS’ Team Guatemala has awarded more than 260 scholarships to help girls remain in school. Currently, the team assists 10 different weaving groups in Guatemala with developing new products, which can be purchased on the Syracuse campus.

Winners were selected from top submissions sent to SU’s chancellor by a selection committee.

Other Syracuse University winners and categories include:

Residence Life
Alexis Peña ’16, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Innovation in Academic Engagement—Course
ECN: EITC Course, College of Arts and Sciences

Innovation in Academic Engagement—Individual
Daniel Piston ’16, School of Education

Innovation in Academic Engagement—Legacy
CMD 352: Design Project Management, School of Art and Design

First-Year Leadership
Justin Bachman ’19, S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications

Individual Undergraduate
Samantha Skaller ’17, Setnor School of Music

Individual Graduate
Jordan Robinson G’17, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs




Arielle Spears