Whitman Recognizes Alumni and Friends with Awards for Exemplary Engagement and Service

Syracuse University’s Martin J. Whitman School of Management is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 awards presented to alumni and friends of the School for exemplary engagement and service:

Jonathan J. Holtz Alumnus of the Year Award

The Holtz Award is the highest honor given to graduates of the Whitman School. Established in 1986 by Jonathan Holtz, the award recognizes an outstanding alumnus/alumna each year for his/her professional accomplishments and service to Syracuse University. The 2022 Holtz Awardee is the incomparable Elisabeth “Lisa” Fontenelli ’86 (WHIT/NEW)

A 1986 graduate of Whitman and the Newhouse School, Fontenelli just completed a four-year term as chair of the Whitman Advisory Council (WAC). She has been deeply committed to the success of the School and WAC’s engagement with Whitman’s people and programs. She’s led the growth and expansion of the Council in terms of diversity of industries and backgrounds. She also spearheaded greater engagement of the Council at the School—particularly with the branding task force and finance placement task force—that has helped the School to better tap into the talents and experience of WAC and YWAC members. 

Fontenelli has long included the School in her philanthropy. Her latest principal gift through the Forever Orange campaign was given in support of Whitman’s programs in New York City—including our efforts to establish Whitman’s semester-long “study away” program in NYC that features experiential learning opportunities and is open to all Whitman students. The program has already resulted in three front office offers at Goldman Sachs for students who interned there during the Semester in NYC program.

In addition to her leadership on the WAC, Fontenelli is highly engaged on the Syracuse University Board of Trustees, where she has chaired the budget committee and served as a member of the special committee for climate, diversity and inclusion as well as the CFO search committee. She is an amazing citizen of the University, and Whitman is so fortunate to be among the many beneficiaries of her dedication, generosity and service.

Whitman Dean’s Citation for Exceptional Service 

The Dean’s Citation for Exceptional Service is given to Whitman alumni and supporters who exemplify commitment to helping the School prepare future business leaders through direct engagement, career and placement opportunities, programmatic support and/or other contributions to position students for professional success. This year’s recipients are Nancy Girondo ’98 (A&S/MAX), ’16 MBA, ’18 M.S. and Scott Mager ’95 (VPA).

Nancy Girondo is a triple alumna of Syracuse University. She earned an MBA from Whitman in 2016 followed by a master’s in entrepreneurship and emerging enterprises in 2018. A recent addition to the Whitman Advisory Council, Girondo has long supported the Goodman IMPRESS program, alumni engagement and career services programming. Her response to requests for panels, career chats, alumni office hours, networking events and mentorship is always, “I’ll make it work just give me the details.” She also generously supports Whitman and Syracuse University through her philanthropy, including a recent gift to fund student retention scholarships and related programming.

Scott Mager serves as principal and chief marketing officer for Deloitte Consulting. He has been instrumental in developing and strengthening the recruiting relationship between Whitman and Deloitte Digital. Deloitte employed more graduates of the class of 2021 than any other employer thanks in large part to Mager’s efforts, which resulted in a number of new graduates hired by Deloitte Digital. He has coordinated visits to Whitman by some of his high-level colleagues to speak in classes and serve as panelists for Marketing Days, which Mager also financially supports. Additionally, he gives of his time and shares his industry perspectives as part of Whitman’s Snyder Innovation Management Center. 

Orange Ovation Award

The Orange Ovation Award recognizes recent Whitman graduates who set a positive example to our students through early career success and dedicated service to the School. This year, Whitman honored the 16 founding members of the Young Whitman Advisory Council (YWAC) with the Orange Ovation Award. 

The YWAC is a dynamic, engaged and successful group of professionals who represent roles and industries across Whitman’s major offerings. Members sit on major panels, coordinate intern and young alumni mixers, plan alumni reunions and Welcome to the City events for new graduates, judge business pitch competitions and participate in networking events, interview rush hours and small-group career chats with students. Additionally, they hire student interns and recent graduates, host students at their firms during career exploration trips, mentor students, reach out to admitted students to encourage their commitment to Whitman and assist with prospective student recruitment events. The impact of the YWAC grows every year, but it all started in August of 2016 when 16 recent graduates agreed to be a part of something new and special at Whitman. The founding members of the YWAC are:

William Cass ’08 (WHIT/NEW)
Devin Dadigan ’10 (WHIT/A&S/MAX)
Jake Duneier ’10
Molly Fisher ’08, ’12 M.S.
Joshua Fishman ’12
Alexandra Garfield ’11
Gabriel Grossman ’10
Michael Gursha ’10 (WHIT/NEW)
Daniel Kinney ’09, ’10 M.S.
Margo Konugres ’12
Megan McDermott ’09
Kelly Olson ’10
Corey Passarella ’11
Derrell Smith ’10 (iSchool), G’13 (NEW)
Nicole Walters ’07
Austin Williams ’11

The Whitman Community congratulates and extends its deepest gratitude to all of our 2022 award honorees. The commitment of these individuals is constant and critical to our School’s efforts to prepare students for success in a world of accelerating change. The School is very thankful for all that they give and do to enhance the Whitman experience.