Holtz Award Honoree Donald Favre ’80 Among Alumni Recognized by the Whitman School

The Martin J. Whitman School of Management has announced the 2019 awards for exemplary service and professional excellence. This year’s honorees are:


HOLTZ ALUMNUS OF THE YEAR: Established in 1986 by Jonathan J. Holtz ’78, the Holtz Alumnus of the Year award is the highest honor given to graduates of the Whitman School. The award recognizes alumni for outstanding professional achievement and distinguished service to Syracuse University.

The 2019 Holtz honoree is Donald P. Favre ’80, a partner in the Metro New York Banking and Capital Markets Tax Practice of PricewaterhouseCoopers and the firm’s Global Risk & Quality Leader for Tax and Legal Services. Don was a longtime chair of Whitman’s Joseph I. Lubin School of Accounting Advisory Board and a dedicated corporate partner.

WHITMAN DEAN’S CITATION FOR EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE: Dean’s Citations are given to Whitman alumni and friends who exemplify a commitment to Syracuse University through direct engagement, efforts to position students for professional success, volunteer leadership and/or programmatic support. The 2019 Dean’s Citation recipients are Tracy Barash ’89 and Michael Blackshear ’91.


Tracy Barash is vice president of Global Franchise Management for WarnerMedia’s Cartoon Network. She is highly engaged in volunteer leadership at Syracuse University. An incoming member of the Whitman Advisory Council, Tracy currently serves as president of the Syracuse University Alumni Association Board, co-chair of the Atlanta Regional Council and a member of the Board of Trustees.



Michael Blackshear serves as the SVP and North America Chief Compliance Officer for Chubb Insurance Group. A longstanding member of Whitman’s Management Department Advisory Board, Micheal has twice chaired Whitman’s Coming Back Together program. He currently sits on the Syracuse University Multicultural Office of Advancement Advisory Council.


YOUNG ALUMNUS OF THE YEAR: The Young Alumnus of the Year award recognizes Whitman alumni who have graduated within the past 10 years and who set a positive example for students and the greater Whitman community through career achievements and continued engagement.


The 2019 Young Alumnus of the Year is Christopher Grant ’12, ’13 M.S. Chris is a member of the Whitman Young Advisory Council and is actively engaged in Whitman’s Real Estate program through mentorship, career exploration, job shadowing and experiential learning.

The Whitman community extends its congratulations and appreciation to our 2019 honorees. We are grateful for their ongoing dedication to advancing the School’s mission and are proud of their significant career accomplishments and exemplary representation of Syracuse University.